EFC Awards and Prizes 2016

European Corrosion Medal 2016

On the occasion of EUROCORR 2016 in Montpellier, France, the European Corrosion Medal was awarded to

Professor Lorenzo Fedrizzi, Italy

Lorenzo Fedrizzi is a full professor of Materials Science and Technology at the University of Udine, Italy, where he teaches Composite Materials Science and Technology and Corrosion at the Engineering Faculty. His main scientific interests are corrosion protection by coatings (organic, metallic and ceramic); materials durability; study of tribo-corrosion mechanisms; study and development of innovative coatings by sol-gel, PVD, CVD and thermal spraying technologies; corrosion behaviour of sintered metal parts; study, development and characterization of metal alloys.
read more (EFC Newsletter No 24, p6)


The European Corrosion Medal was presented to Prof. Fedrizzi at EUROCORR 2016’s opening session in Montpellier, France.


The purpose of the European Corrosion Medal is to recognise achievements by a scientist, or group of scientists, in the application of corrosion science in the widest sence. The recipient(s) must be of a nationality corresponding to one, or more, of the Member Societies of the EFC and the work must be conducted within a European country.
The European Corrosion Medal consists of a bronze medal, a diploma and a sum of 1000 Euros and is awarded every year preferably on the occasion of a Europen Corrosion Congress (EUROCORR). The laureate is invited to give a lecture related to the work for which the medal was attributed.



EUROCORR Young Scientist Grant

On the occasion of EUROCORR 2016 in Montpellier, France, the EUROCORR Young Scientist Grant was awarded to

  • Mr. Baiwei Zhu (Jönköping University, Sweden) will visit Prof. Flavio Deflorian (University of Trento, Italy) in the frame of his Ph.D. studies: “Optimization of aluminum alloys, the casting and the anodizing processes for high thermal conductive components”.
  • Ms. Elisabetta Di Francia (Politecnico di Torino, Italy) will visit Dr. Delphine Neff (CEA/CNRS/University Paris Saclay, France) in the frame of her Ph.D. studies: “Optimisation of a non-invasive laser cleaning procedure”.
  • Ms. Beatriz Mingo (University Complutense of Madrid, Spain) will visit Prof. Mikhail Zheludkevich (Helmholtz Centrum Geesthacht, Germany) in the frame of her studies: “Development of passive surface treatments for magnesium alloys".

read more (EFC Newsletter No 24, p7)

The EUROCORR Young Scientist Grant aims at ,stimulating interaction and collaboration within the international corrosion community by providing financial support to junior corrosionists, thus enabling them to visit and interact with other corrosionists at their respective institutes abroad.

EFC Poster Prize 2016

On the occasion of EUROCORR 2016 in Montpellier, France, the Young Author's EFC Poster Prize was presented to

Ms. Elke Ludwig, TU Wien, Vienna, Austria

for the outstanding poster contribution on "Corrosion of Copper in Combination with Polymers".


EUROCORR2016 Poster Prize-photo winner

Henri Coriou Award

For the first time the Henri Coriou Award for outstanding contributions to corrosion science and engineering in the nuclear field was presented during EUROCORR 2016 in Montpellier to:

Prof. David Tice (see photo), Amec Foster Wheeler, UK.

Short CV: He is Amec’s Chief Corrosion Scientist, has published numerous papers and led a number of research programmes on various aspects of environmentally-assisted cracking (EAC) in high-temperature LWR environments, including corrosion fatigue and stress corrosion cracking over a period of 35 years. He has directed a number of major projects on corrosion fatigue of ferritic and austenitic stainless steels. He was a former chairman of the ‘Int. Co-operative Group on EAC in Water Reactor Environments (ICG-EAC)’ and is a member of the ‘EPRI Expert Panel on Environmentally-Assisted Fatigue’. He is also a visiting Professor at The University of Manchester’s Materials Performance Centre responsible for technical direction of collaborative research on corrosion and EAC.



WP 4 Oral Prizes awarded during EUROCORR 2016

WP 4 prizes for the two best oral presentations of the Nuclear Corrosion session during EUROCORR 2016 in Montpellier were awarded to:

1st: `Using tapered specimen to study the effect of hydrogen on SCC initiation in Alloy 182 under BWR condition`,

by Mr. Juxing Bai (see photo), Stefan Ritter, Hans-Peter Seifert (all Paul Scherrer Institut, Switzerland), and Sannakaisa Virtanen (University of Erlangen, Germany)


2nd: `Pitting corrosion modelling by means of a stochastic cellular automata based model`,

by Mr. Cristian Felipe Pérez-Brokate (see photo, CEA - SCCME, France),Dung di Caprio (CNRS - Chimie ParisTech, France), Damien Féron (CEA - SCCME, France), Jacques de Lamare (CEA - SCCME, France), and Annie Chaussé (Université d’Evry Val d’Essonne, France)